Feng Liu

Department Chair and Professor
Office: CME 304
Phone: 801-587-7719
Email: fliu@eng.utah.edu

Research Interests

My research interests lie in the materials modeling and simulation from the atomic to mesoscopic scales. We develop and apply both first-principles computational methods and phenomenological theoretical models to study a wide spectrum of materials properties in various materials systems. Most recently, we have focused on modeling and simulation of properties of surfaces and interfaces, growth mechanisms of thin films, and self-assembly and self-organization of nanostructures.
Google Scholar

Gerald Stringfellow

Distinguished Professor
Office: MEB 3110
Phone: 801-581-8387
Email: stringfellow@coe.utah.edu

Research Interests

Ceramics, advanced materials, microelectronics, and a broad range of topics related to materials science and electronics.
Google Scholar
Video Summary

Anil Virkar

Distinguished Professor
Office: CME 316-315
Phone: 801-581-5396
Email: anil.virkar@m.cc.utah.edu

Research Interest

Research interests in fuel cells, batteries, sensors, high temperature materials (ceramics), solid state and liquid state electrochemistry, materials synthesis, energy-related research.

Shelley Minteer

Professor
Office: CME 212
Phone: na
Email: minteer@chem.utah.edu

Research Interest

Developing bio-batteries, specifically, using metabolic pathways to convert chemical energy into electricity.
Google Scholar

Dinesh Shetty

Professor
Office: CME 311
Phone: 801-581-6449
Email: d.shetty@utah.edu

Research Interest

Design, Process and Characterize Functional and Structural Ceramics. Two specific areas of interest are designing functionally-graded carbides in Group VB metal (Ta, Nb, V) -C binary systems and magnetic-field induced texture in non-cubic oxide ceramics for optical and electro-optical applications.
Google Scholar

Ashutosh Tiwari

Professor
Office: CME 317
Phone: 801-585-1666
Email: tiwari@eng.utah.edu

Research Interest

My research is on advanced materials for application in a variety of areas including Nano-Electronics, Spintronics, Spin-Caloritronics, Thermoelectrics and Gas Sensors. We use pulsed laser deposition technique for designing new functional materials and smart structures. Our current emphasis is on Oxide and Chalcogenides based 2D materials.

Ling Zang

Professor
Office: SMBB 5543
Phone: 801-587-1551
Email: LZANG@eng.utah.edu

Research Interest

Current research interests include molecular self-assembly, organic semiconductors and nanostructures, nanoscale imaging, molecular probe, fluorescence sensing, optoelectronic sensors and nanodevices, as well as the relevant applications in solar energy conversion, and trace chemical and explosives detection.
Google Scholar

 

Dmitry Bedrov

Associate Professor
Office: CME 206
Phone: 801-585-3949
Email: d.bedrov@utah.edu

Research Interest

My research interest lies in the area of multiscale modeling of soft-condensed matter systems that exhibit complex, multiscale structure often arising from molecular and super-molecular self-assembly.

Reaz Chaudhuri

Associate Professor
Office: MEB 4102
Phone: 801-581-6282
Email: r.chaudhuri@utah.edu

Research Interest

Three-Dimensional Singular Stress Fields at the Front of Interfacial Crack/Anticrack Type Discontinuities in Trimaterial Bonded Plates.

Mike Scarpulla

Associate Professor
Office: MEB 2138
Phone: 801-585-1231
Email: scarpulla@eng.utah.edu

Research Interest

Compound semiconductor research, laser processing of compound semiconductors, and photovoltaics. We have current projects in CdTe, CZTSSe, and III-V’s.
Google Scholar

Jeff Bates

Assistant Professor
Office: CME 211
Phone: na
Email: jeff.bates@utah.edu

Research Interest

My research is in polymer materials used in health care and sustainability applications.My current research projects are aimed at hydrogels and their uses in optical drug delivery, stimuli-responsive materials in the design of self-monitoring irrigation systems, phase change materials used for thermal management systems, and super absorbent polymers that will degrade under environmental conditions for use by women in developing countries for personal hygiene.

Taylor Sparks

Assistant Professor
Office: CME 314
Phone: 801-581-8632
Email: sparks@eng.utah.edu

Research Interest

Discovery, synthesis, and characterization of new materials for energy applications such as batteries, thermoelectrics, thermal barrier coatings, thermal management systems and others.
Google Scholar

Justin Hooper

Research Assistant Professor
Office: CME 206
Phone: 801-585-7171
Email: j.b.hooper@utah.edu

Research Interest

 

Dr. Richard Cohen

Adjunct
Office: CME 319
Phone: na
Email: richard.cohen@utah.edu
 

Dr. Raymond Cutler

Adjunct
Office: CME 210
Phone: na
Email: r.cutler@utah.edu