MSE student, Jeffrey Copeland, wins GELS award

Joins the Dr. Sparks Research Group to work on electrochromic films in search of energy efficiency

About the Electrochrome LLC. team and project


The idea for the Electrochrome LLC. team started in Dr. Spark's MSE 3310 class. One class of the class assignments is a "Shark Tank" type of project that blends engineering with business savvy. 
The team won the class competition by pitching electromchrome goggles and have since taken the concept and model outside of the classroom.
The goggles can change tint in real time as lighting conditions change on the mountain for skiing or whatever application the goggles/eyewear would be used for.
The company has partnerships with Aura Optics & DFG and Scott Goggles. Both companies want to commericalize the googles. 
The team has recieved additional investors and are looking for additional applications to the electrochrome technology. Possible applications include home and business windows along with car windshields.
These applications could possibly be a low cost solution to saving energy and power. This is what made this project appealing to the GELS grant.

Electrochrome LLC. Team 

CopelandRESEARCH TEAM (L TO R): Jeffrey Copeland, Nic Flinner, Carina Hahn, Max Gallant and Prof. Taylor Sparks.

SALT LAKE CITY -- Materials Science & Engineering student, Jeffrey Copeland (B.S., '17) was awarded a Governor's Energy Leadership Scholars (GELS) award from the state of Utah. Copeland is a student in the Professor Taylor Sparks research group. 

Copeland will use his award to work along with group members -- Max Gallant, Carina Hahn and Nic Flinner who founded Electrochrome LLC., to develop inexpensive films that can be applied to windows (see left bar for more information). 

One potential application for this technology are "smart windows" in residential and commercial buildings that can be programmed to reflect more sunlight to keep the interior cooler during hot times of the day. 

This is the third student that Dr. Sparks advises who has recieved this award. Leila Ghadbiega (Ph.D. candidate) and Matthew Judge (B.S., '16) were receipents of the award for the 2014-15 academic year.

Congratulations Jeffrey and the Prof. Sparks research group!